In every state in the United States, cocaine is illegal, both to possess and to traffic or sell. However, the consequences for such crimes do vary quite drastically from state to state. Therefore, it is vital that you understand the cocaine laws for the particular state that you are in.
In Washington, the consequences for cocaine possession, intent to sell and trafficking is considered "the middle of the road" in comparison to other states. It is not particularly severe, but not particularly lenient, either.
What are the consequences for different cocaine crimes?
If you are found in possession of cocaine, then it is likely that you will face up to five years in jail. If you are a first-time offender, however, you may be eligible for more lenient treatment; potentially probation could be an alternative to jail. However, if you are caught for the second time in possession of cocaine, you are likely to be subject to double the penalties.
If you are convicted of the intent to sell or caught selling cocaine, then you could face a maximum of 10 years in jail and fine of $25,000, and potentially more if you are found with more than 2 kg of cocaine.
Can I go through rehab after court?
If it is believed that you would benefit from rehabilitation and you have never been convicted of a serious crime before, you may be eligible to receive rehabilitation as a form of sentencing.
If you have been found with cocaine in your possession in Washington, you must treat this very seriously and decide how you plan to take action for your future.
Source: FindLaw, "Washington Cocaine Laws," accessed Feb. 01, 2018